Reminders

Everywhere I go
You are with me
In the coffee I drink
The way the rain falls
The man in the dusty old cap
But new sports jacket
Reminds me of you
When the sun is beginning to set
At the market,
At lunch
Eating pad thai or Chinese
I see you
Reading a book
That woman asleep on the tube
Running for the bus
Strolling down the road
All things I did with you.

My hand is empty without yours
Brief flashes of you making me all too aware
Of the gap in my heart
Where you belong.
The reminders are what hurt the most.

Leave a Reply

